“Halal” is the Arabic term that means ‘permissible’ according to the Islam rules. The term is commonly used in food. All Halal food that is permissible will be based on the teachings of Islam. It includes any food that is not forbidden or “Haram,” according to the Quran. In most cases, Halal is used by many restaurants to indicate that the food they serve is suitable for Muslims. And that is the same when it comes to halal sweets.
All About Halal Sweets
The meaning of the term is the same with sweets and candies. In the Muslim religion and beliefs, pork is considered forbidden. Many of these products contain gelatine. And this popular candy-processing ingredient usually comes from pig and cow skin and bones. Gelatine is the colorless, odorless, and flavorless ingredient produced from these animal parts. And most of the candies you can buy in sweet shops contain gelatine. And with that, it is safe to say that these candies are not Halal.
Are There Halal Sweets?
Surprisingly, yes, there are halal sweets. These candies use vegetable gelatin most of the time. Halal sweets are also made of beef gelatine, provided that the cow has been slaughtered according to Islamic laws. Some people are eating and enjoying Halal sweets without even noticing the difference. Some of the famous brands these days now carry these types of candies. And one will only see if they check the ingredients list. Candy makers of this generation started to make more and more Halal candies simply because of the increasing demand from Muslims worldwide.
Many have adjusted with the ingredients that they have to use to cater to their Muslim customers. Aside from beef gelatine, others are using fruit juice instead. Some manufacturers have already changed their recipes to produce halal sweets. Also, halal sweets do not contain colorings or flavor additives that are alcohol-based since, for Muslims, consuming alcohol is haram too. Thanks to this effort, Muslim children can now enjoy what gummy bears or gummy worms taste like.
Where to Buy Halal Sweets and Candies
If you are not sure whether your sweet shop sells halal sweets and candies, it might be best to consider buying them online. At ZAP Sweets, you are sure that you are purchasing Halal products. They are a retailer and online wholesaler store that caters to customers with specific requirements for their candies. Besides Halal sweets, they also sell sugar-free, vegan, and vegetarian, or you can pick and mix your candies depending on your preference.